The Place I Want to Go

11 11 2012

Lyrics – Arthur Freed
Music – Harold Weeks
Publisher – Sherman,Clay & Co., San Francisco

In that fair land of Egypt there is a town you know,
They call it old Cairo, that’s the place I want to go;
It’s the land of proud Cleo, who lived in luxury,
There’s a Cleo there for me, and her mark I’d gladly be.

Cairo, your streets are gaily laden, splendor entrancing.
Cairo, you have the sun-burned maiden famed for her dancing.
I know all the charms of dear old Cairo,
If you’d know just ask the Sphinx
What he thinks as he winks at old Cairo.

In that land of all ages where happy hours are spun,
There’s nearly all the fun that you’ll find beneath the sun;
In its quaint old cafes life is one eternal spree,
It’s a cocktail made of glee and that’s good enough for me.

Cairo, your streets are gaily laden, splendor entrancing.
Cairo, you have the sun-burned maiden famed for her dancing.
I know all the charms of dear old Cairo,
If you’d know just ask the Sphinx
What he thinks as he winks at old Cairo.

Actions

Information

4 responses

12 11 2012
Magical Effects of Thinking

I haven’t seen you in my inbox. Thought maybe you had gone to Old Cairo. I have no idea how this song goes but I’ve put the lyrics to my own little melody. What a great piece, it would look awesome framed.

13 11 2012
Dr. Sphinx

Ha – I just started a new job last wk after two years of unemployment! So haven’t quite figured out my personal time yet. I have had limited success finding old recordings on youtube, of all places. Lyrics are so funny from this time period.

27 04 2013
Dave Ryman

Hi,
I’ve recently obtained the piano sheet music for “Cairo One step” from a charity shop here in the UK. It’s a 1919 instrumental version of the Freed & Weeks song by Herman Darewski.

I have just started entering it on a music score program on the PC, and will be able to provide a midi file in due course, which I will find a home for somewhere on the internet. Let me know (dave_ryman@hotmail.com) if you’d like me to send you a link to it.

Thanks very much for posting the lyrics. It’s a little mysterious when all you’ve got is an instrumental version!

Regards
Dave

28 04 2013
Dr. Sphinx

Sure Dave, I would be happy to link to that file. I have the same mystified feeling when reading the lyrics, because I can’t read music beyond what notes are high and which ones are low!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

