Ring Cycle

28 12 2012

Believe it or not, this beautifully detailed ring from the 1920s is an insignificant piece of costume jewelry.  Well, insignificant to you – better than diamonds to me.  Then again, my world was rocked by getting toilet paper this year for Christmas – more on that later in my next post – so I am ridiculously easy to please.  Don’t let the picture fool you, this ring is petite, sized for a lady.  The condition is excellent, retaining most of the original painted accents, and the faux ruby remains in place thanks to the extra time taken in creating prongs from the surrounding metal.  Does it fit me?  Yes.  Does it turn my skin greenish-grey?  Yes.  Do I care?  Oh, silly reader.  ;-)

ring gold head and snake

Actions

Information

6 responses

28 12 2012
graciousgood

Well worth the green skin!

29 12 2012
Dr. Sphinx

Indeed ;-P

31 12 2012
Tisa

With a face as enigmatic as Dr Sphinx…

4 01 2013
Dr. Sphinx

Looks a little bit grumpy…

1 01 2013
Magical Effects of Thinking

Wonderful find. Does that mean it’s copper if it turns your finger green? I first noticed the prong on the faux ruby. Just shows the great detail on something that was considered costume or fun. Most department store jewelry nowadays won’t last as long as yours!

4 01 2013
Dr. Sphinx

It could be copper or other metal – as I discovered by being rooked at a jewelry store that I ordered some “sterling” settings from.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

