In the Moonlight

5 05 2013

Mystic Nile-large

Lyrics – Bud Green
Music – Charlie Pierce
Publisher – Al. Piantadosi & Co. Inc., New York, 1920

While strolling by the Nile,
There I caught the smile,
Of a Cairo maid.
In the moonlight, she,
Did a dance for me,
‘Neath an old palm tree,
While the tom toms played.
But I had to say goodbye,
Tho’ our hearts will sigh and yearn,
I know I will soon return.

Oh, Mystic Nile,
I’m longing all the while,
To be near, and hear,
Her love song.
‘Neath the palms,
I’ll hold her in my arms,
So sentimental,
Sweet Oriental,
Maid of the Mystic Nile.

There in the moonlight’s glare,
As she kneels in pray’r,
‘Neath the stars above,
I can hear her sigh,
To the gods on high,
“Won’t you please bring back,
Someone that I love?”
But she waits impatiently,
And she’s calling me to stay,
So I’m coming back someday.

Oh, Mystic Nile,
I’m longing all the while,
To be near, and hear,
Her love song.
‘Neath the palms,
I’ll hold her in my arms,
So sentimental,
Sweet Oriental,
Maid of the Mystic Nile.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

