Egyptian Cinderella

26 08 2013

This 1950s ad for the Joyce company, located in Pasadena CA, showcases the embellished footwear that a modern Nefertiti might wear.  “Undimmed through centuries, the jewels of Nefertite cast their spell on your lamplit hours…glow again on velvet the color of Sahara sands…the Egyptian (a) shell – 12.95, (b) peakpump – 12.95 and (c) contour – 16.95, from the Lamplighter collection of original Joyce designs…priced from 9.95.  Write, we’ll tell you where.”

Joyce shoes-large

Actions

Information

One response

27 08 2013
Tisa

Ah yes, I recognize this ad as one I’ve sold at Seattle Retro, I recently sent it to France for a collector there too–I think the artwork is great & almost makes me wish I’d kept my uncle’s 50s Nefertiti bust……almost! Thanks for the deja vu.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

