Mummy Mine? Blech!

18 06 2010


Lyrics – Richard Coburn
Music – Vincent Rose
Publisher – Sherman, Clay & Co., San Francisco – 1918
Listen to the recording on the Library of Congress website!

Oh take me where my love lies dreaming,
And the Nile is gleaming,
Underneath the stars,
And make me turn the desert’s glooming
Into gardens blooming,
Where no prison bars hold you.

Mummy, a million years you have been sleeping friendlessly,
Mummy, a million years I’ve used in weeping so endlessly.
I’ve waited thro’ the years just sighing.
Oh! can’t you hear me again crying, Waken?
Your love no more denying, Mummy mine.

In vain dear, has my heart been singing,
There’s no answer winging,
Over desert sands,
Again dear, wearied now of weeping,
All my sorrow reaping,
With your shrouded hands hold me.

Mummy, a million years you have been sleeping friendlessly,
Mummy, a million years I’ve used in weeping so endlessly.
I’ve waited thro’ the years just sighing.
Oh! can’t you hear me again crying, Waken?
Your love no more denying, Mummy mine.

Actions

Information

3 responses

19 06 2010
L.Shure

Yeah, it’s not good. But maybe the music outweighs the goofy rhymes and awkward meter. It would have to be really awesome music.

12 05 2011
Lisanne!

It’s a wonderful song. And the Library of Congress has put it up for listening. This version is by the Sterling Trio.

Thanks for the lyrics.

http://www.loc.gov/jukebox/recordings/detail/id/6961

12 05 2011
Dr. Sphinx

Thanks Lisanne, for letting me know about this wonderful resource! Can’t wait to explore their other recordings.

Leave a Reply

