Lips Like the Hot Sands Burning…

30 07 2010


Lyrics – Jack Yellen
Music – James Walter
Publisher – Ager, Yellen & Bornstein Inc., New York – 1923

Down where the crescent moon is shining on a lonely road to Cairo
Down where the magic Lotus flower charms your sorrows all away
There it was I gazed into the brightest eyes that I know;
There another Cleopatra led my heart astray

‘Neath Egyptian skies
Egyptian eyes softly whisper’d “Love me”
And at their command
To loving arms so tender I surrender’d
Lips like the hot sands burning
Left in my heart a yearning
For another hour in that love bow’r
‘Neath Egyptian skies

Life cannot hold a sweeter recollection than the love she gave me
The desert turn’d to Paradise while I was resting in her arms
From the land of dreams her mem’ry comes back to enslave me;
With a longing for her mystic Oriental charms

‘Neath Egyptian skies
Egyptian eyes softly whisper’d “Love me”
And at their command
To loving arms so tender I surrender’d
Lips like the hot sands burning
Left in my heart a yearning
For another hour in that love bow’r
‘Neath Egyptian skies

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

