An Ancient ‘Education’

15 10 2010

Lyrics – David Wolff
Music – Arthur Weinberg
Publisher – Will Rossiter, Chicago – 1910

Way down on the banks of the river Nile
There lived a young Egyptian maid.
From her no one ever’d won a smile
Her heart had never strayed a bit
She was just as innocent as a new born babe.
Till one night a dusky lover came and set her heart a beating
She would sit beside the Pyramids and listen to his tender lay
And then she would be repeating
Those words she heard him say

Oh my pretty little Egyptian maid
Say that you love me
I’ll support you in the grandest style
In my castle on the River Nile
You are just the very maid for me
And my heart you’ve swayed
You are the sweetest girl in all creation
And you’ve surely won my admiration
My own Egyptian maid.

One night to the land of the wondrous Sphinx
There came a man from o’er the hill.
He saw this maid and cried “Me thinks
She’s just the girl I’m looking for
To get a booking for in vaudeville.”
Ev’ry evening by the river in the moonlight he would squeeze her
He told her that she would surely make a hit upon the Gay White Way
When he kissed her just to tease her
She screamed and heard him say

Oh my pretty little Egyptian maid
Say that you love me
I’ll support you in the grandest style
In my castle on the River Nile
You are just the very maid for me
And my heart you’ve swayed
You are the sweetest girl in all creation
And you’ve surely won my admiration
My own Egyptian maid.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

