Where’d You Get Those Peepers?

4 06 2011

Although widely considered a great beauty, Nefertiti is rarely depicted in Egyptomania, losing ground to her competitor Cleopatra – who was not beautiful, but spicy.  In this elegant ad from the 1950s, we catch a glimpse of just how fun makeup was in those days: “Germaine Monteil’s exclusive ‘Lumium’ lights your lids with colors such as dreams are made on – brilliant hues that shimmer with light-reflecting magic like the fairy dust that paints a butterfly’s wing.”

Actions

Information

2 responses

4 06 2011
Tisa2

One of my favorite Egyptian theme ads, I’ve sold it lots of times at Seattle Retro. Dear to my heart because I grew up with an uncle displaying a 50s Nefertiti bust in his home, kinda tacky & cool at the same time to a little kid, my first glimpse of that culture 🙂 Now if only I could master eyeliner….

6 06 2011
Dr. Sphinx

I probably bought mine from you 🙂

Leave a Reply

