In the Beginning

22 07 2013

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis is the piece that started it all.  Before I fell victim to the relentless pull of the ebay black hole, I did my online shopping on another collectibles site.  This 1960s chip and dip set, complete with lazy Susan, was my first Egyptian Revival purchase and is still one of my favorite items.  I always appreciate when ancient design elements are adapted to modern tastes.  And what says ’60s party time’ more than a raised lotus motif covered in glaze the color of a martini olive?  On a spinning base, no less?

Actions

Information

2 responses

23 07 2013
Tisa

I’ll bring some jalapeno poppers over for the potluck, or maybe some stuffed zucchini blossoms (as close to lotus as I could get)! Now I understand how the mania…er…collecting ensued 🙂 Love it!

25 07 2013
Dr. Sphinx

Too bad it clashes with my punch bowl and cups set (Pepto pink and black) or we could really have a crazy time!

Leave a Reply

